Friday Funday – Oscar Night


Mary O’Neill at the Forum is a big fan of the Oscars. She’s been running a pool for something like 15 years. I have to admit, I haven’t been following movies much lately. In fact, I’ve only see 1.5 of the movies nominated for best picture (my wife keeps falling asleep during Up).

I joined Mary’s pool this year and my picks for the top slots are after the jump. Am I even close? I have until Sunday night to make my final selections so if you can give me an edge, please do.

BEST MOTION PICTURE OF THE YEAR

Avatar

ACHIEVEMENT IN DIRECTING

James Cameron –Avatar

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

Gabourey Sidibe –Precious: Based On The Novel Push By Sapphire

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

MoNique – Precious: Based On The Novel Push By Sapphire

We’re not the only organization with the Oscar bug. Philanthropy New York invited its members to a screening of Best Documentary nominee The Last Truck: The Closing of a GM Plant. If you’re in the New York area, the event is open to anyone.

Who are your picks for the big night?

2 responses to “Friday Funday – Oscar Night

  1. I’m pretty confident in The Hurt Locker winning the best movie or best director. Don’t say later that I didn’t warn you 🙂

Leave a Reply

